Tag Archives: Citrus Bowl 2018 Notre Dame vs LSU

Citrus Bowl 2018: Date, time, location, TV channel for LSU-Notre Dame

The 2018 Citrus Bowl will be held on Jan. 1 at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla. between LSU and Notre Dame. The bowl game, which currently features teams from the Big Ten and SEC, started in 1947 as the Tangerine Bowl and has been a New Year’s Day staple since the 1986 season. Find the date, time and location below.

Citrus Bowl 2018 date, time

Teams: LSU-Notre Dame

Time: The 2018 Citrus Bowl is played at 1 p.m. ET on January 1.

Date: Monday, Jan. 1, 2018

Time: 1 p.m. ET

Citrus Bowl 2018 location

The 2018 Citrus Bowl will be held at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla.


The 2018 Citrus Bowl will feature to Top 20 teams that both will be a bit shorthanded heading into the New Year’s Day game.

No. 14 Notre Dame (9-3) burst out of the gate, going 8-1 in its first nine games with its only loss coming to current No. 3 Georgia. However, the Fighting Irish had a shaky end of the 2017 season, losing two out of its last three games. Notre Dame will be without its freshman tight end Brock Wright and sophomore wide receiver Chase Claypool, who both underwent shoulder surgery. The Irish will also be without wide receiver Kevin Stepherson and running back C.J. Holmes, who were both suspended after their arrest following a shoplifting incident, and tight end Alize Mack, who is suspended following an internal team matter.

No. 16 LSU (9-3, 6-2 SEC) had an up-and-down season, including a 24-21 loss to Troy at home and a win over No. 10 Auburn late in the year. Meanwhile, the Tigers are missing a few key players on defense. According to Ross Dellenger of The Advocate, senior linebackers Donnie Alexander and Corey Thompson will miss the Citrus Bowl, while star defensive end/linebacker Arden Key may miss the game as well.

Citrus Bowl history

The Citrus Bowl 2018 is one of the most-storied and most-prominent bowl games in the country. The game began in 1947 when it was known as the Tangerine Bowl. The game’s name was changed to the Citrus Bowl in 1982. The game was known as the Capital One Bowl for 12 years between 2003 and 2014, but it regained the Citrus Bowl moniker in 2015. The game has featured a pair of ranked opponents in every season except for two since 1985. Georgia is tied with Florida for the most Citrus Bowl appearances with six, and the Dawgs have the most wins with a 4-1-1 record.

The Big Ten is 12-14 in the game, and the conference’s most recent win came during the 2015 season when Michigan trounced Florida, 41-7. IN the most recent Citrus Bowl, LSU shut down Heisman winner Lamar Jackson and Louisville in a 29-9 victory.